FA Groundman of the Year Awards 2017 - Nottinghamshire Winners announced

Nottinghamshire County FA would like to thank all Clubs that took the time to nominate their Groundsman for The FA Groundsman of the Year Awards…

Nottinghamshire County FA has been collating nominations over the past couple of months, in order to identify their top 3 Groundsmen to submit to The FA for independent judging, as part of their annual National Awards. This year’s Nottinghamshire County Awards were supported via a partnership with Fleet (Line Markers) Ltd who will supply prizes to the top 3 county winners.

These awards provide a great opportunity to recognise and reward club groundsmen in Nottinghamshire. Following the receipt of nominations, a Panel from Nottinghamshire County FA selected their top three nominations to submit to The Football Association.

The three Groundsmen in Nottinghamshire were from Sherwood FC, Newark Flowserve FC and Ashland Rovers FC. Nottinghamshire County FA will be providing a prizes supplied by Fleet (Line Markers) Ltd to the respective Clubs and their Groundsmen, to put towards the upkeep of their Grounds.

Nottinghamshire County FA would like to commend all Club Groundsmen for the great work that they do on a day to day basis. In particular, we would like to congratulate those three shortlisted:

Winner – Sherwood FC: Chris Wilcok (who will receive Kombi Line Marker & 2 Drums of Super C Paint courtesy of Fleet Line Markers).

Runner-Up – Newark Flowserve FC: Colin Briggs (who will receive 2 Drums of Super C Paint courtesy of Fleet Line Markers).

Third Placed – Ashfield District Council & Ashland Rovers FC: Dave Jones and Ian Townroe (who will receive 1 Drum of Pitchmarker C Paint courtesy of Fleet Line Markers).

Our top 3 winning County Groundsmen will also be invited to Nottinghamshire County FA’s Annual Awards Event which will take place on 21st May 2017, to share their success with other grassroots football volunteers from across the County.

In the meantime, The FA judges will now use their discretion to score the top Groundsmen from across the Country, based on their individual contribution and ambition to improve their pitches.

Ricky Stevenson, Business Development Manager at The Nottinghamshire FA said: “Year on year grounds-people nationwide dedicate an ever increasing amount of hours into the grassroots game to ensure the game can be played how it should, on high quality surfaces.

Chris has made excellent progress and we’re delighted that he’s been awarded Nottinghamshire’s Groundsman of the Year, it’s thoroughly deserved.

A special mention must also go to Colin Briggs (Newark Flowserve FC) and Dave Jones & Ian Townroe (Ashfield District Council –support to pitches used by Ashland Rovers FC who were shortlisted but narrowly missed out this year.“

The majority of football in this country is played outside the Football League. Quality pitches are therefore essential for the development of football at every level. Grassroots groundsmen, the vast majority of whom are volunteers, play a huge role in ensuring pitches are in their best possible condition, week in, week out.

Rob Wager, Area Manager at Fleet Line Marker said: “Fleet Line Markers are delighted to be able to support grassroots football the supporting Nottinghamshire FA’s Groundsman of the Year awards. We hope these prizes will be suitable reward for these groundsmen and will give them bright, long lasting while lines to put the finishing touches to their pitches”


Related News

View All