Nottinghamshire FA Awards Evening 2017


The Nottinghamshire FA’s 2016/17 Awards took place at Meadow Lane, the home of Notts County FC, on Sunday 21st May.

The event was originally planned to take place in between the Sunday Senior Trophy Final and the Women’s Senior Cup Final but due to an unplayable pitch the finals were postponed much to the disappointment of everyone involved. See a statement from Notts County FC here.

Despite the games being postponed the awards, sponsored by Replay Maintenance Ltd, still took place and proved a huge success.

Our very own Football Development Officer Callum Convery swapped his tracksuit for his tuxedo to compare the event in front of a hundred strong audience with special guests including the sponsors Replay Maintenance Ltd, our County Cups supporter Bluefin Sport, Fleet Line Marking, Nottingham Forest Football in the Community, National Managers from The FA and Directors of The Nottinghamshire FA.

The event started with guests being treated to a two course meal, a traditional Sunday carvery and dessert, and then taking part in a raffle to raise funds for an extremely important cause.

Simon Morgan who is a volunteer at Clifton All Whites FC was raising fund for his challenge to cycle from Barnsley to Amsterdam in aid of Men Utd who raise funds and awareness for Prostate Cancer UK, click here for further details.

Simon has since on the 8th June completed his challenge, and the donations alone from all of our County Cup finals and the awards raffle raised £1004.00!

The awards that were presented at the event were as follows:

The FA Community Awards 2016/17 (supported by McDonalds)

The FA Charter Standard Club of the Year – Selston FC

The FA Charter Standard Development Club of the Year – Stapleford Town FC

The FA Charter Standard Community Club of the Year – Priory Celtic FC

The FA Young Volunteer Award of the Year Runners Up Jake Jamieson (Blidworth Bengals FC & Mansfield Town FC) & Joshua Ward (Phoenix Inham FC)

The FA Young Volunteer Award of the Year – Daniel Colledge (Rainworth Rangers FC)

The FA Coach of the Year Runners Up – Richard Ward (Phoenix Inham FC) & Darren Walters (Rise Park YFC)

The FA Coach of the Year – Sefton Garner (Stapleford Town FC)

The FA Charter Standard League of the Year – Nottinghamshire Girls and Ladies Football League

The FA Outstanding Contribution to Community Football Award – Ted Harris (New Newark Youth Football League)

Nottinghamshire FA Referee Awards 2016/17

Referee of the Year – Robert Pealing

‘Andrew Bandelow’ Young Referee of the Year – Joe Zalewski

Outstanding Contribution to Refereeing – Andrew Rolph


Nottinghamshire FA Groundsman Award 2016/17

Groundsman of the Year – Chris Wilcock (Debdale Lane, Sherwood Colliery FC)

Groundsman of the Year Runners up – Colin Briggs (Flowserve Sports & Social Club), Dave Jones & Ian Townroe (Ashfield District Council)

Nottinghamshire FA Special Recognition Awards 2016/17

Colin Slater (Notts County FC)

Tony Cuthbert (Notts County FC)

All photographs are available to view here, and are courtesy of The Nottinghamshire FA Official Photographer Alexandra Johnson @ASJphotography

The FA Community Awards process for 2017/18 will open again in January 2018 so please if you know someone who deserves to be recognised and rewarded for their voluntary service to football please take five minutes to submit a nomination for them!

Keep an eye on for the latest information of follow us at or

MH Goals Ltd
Buy Now England vs Slovenia