Two girls playing football with Grassroots Football Awards logo

Nottinghamshire FA names local Grassroots Football Award Winners

Find out The Nottinghamshire FA 2018 Grassroots Football Award Winners.
Nottinghamshire FA has selected local grassroots heros as winners and runners up of The FA and McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards 2018. 

The Grassroots Football Awards, known previously as The FA and McDonald’s Community Awards, recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and groups to instill The FA’s PRIDE values – Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determination and Excellent – and make a positive difference in their club, league or local community.


Following receipt of a record 2,904 nominations, The FA has worked alongside respective County FAs to select appropriate winners across 10 categories. The full list of Nottinghamshire FA Grassroots Football Awards 2018 winners are:


  • Coach of the year: Colin Eastwood with Simon Revelle and Ivan Walters as runners up
  • Community project of the year: Pythian Club with Beeston Wildcats as runners up
  • Charter Standard club of the year: Quarrydale United FC
  • Charter Standard league of the year: Nottinghamshire Girls & Ladies League
  • Grounds team of the year: John Langley
  • Match Official of the year: Matt Picker
  • The Respect Award: Jeremy Dixon
  • Supporter of the year: Zander Shayler
  • Volunteer of the year: Heather Gill with Ian Goulding and David Lee as runners up
  • Youth volunteer of the year: Alexandra Harding  


Greg Clarke, Chairman of The FA, said: "It’s been fantastic to see a record number of nominations for this year’s Grassroots Football Awards and hear so many stories of dedication and commitment throughout the grassroots game.


"The selection of winners chosen alongside Nottinghamshire FA represents the diverse nature of football in this country and I would like to congratulate each and every one for their inspirational work."


On 9 July, The FA’s National Panel will meet to select national winners from the pool of County FA recipients and they will be formally announced at the 2018 FA Community Shield on 5 August.

Find out more

Nottinghamshire FA Grassroots Award Winners 2018  

We would also like to announce the winners of our own Nottinghamshire FA Grassroots Football Awards which is onto its 15th year of running. Our awards evening will be held on 3rd August 2018 at East Midlands Conference Centre and all winners and runners up will be invited to attend.


Referee Awards

  • Referee of the Year: David Coote

  • Young Referee of the Year: Grace Lowe

  • Outstanding Contribution to Refereeing: Tim Bee

Groundsman Award

  • Groundsman of the Year: Gerry Williams

Nottingham Disability Awards

  • Nottingham Disability Football Family Project/Club of the Year: Burton Joyce FC

  • Nottingham Disability Football Family Volunteer/Coach of the Year: Henry Thomas-Ford with Matthew Artis as runner up

  • Nottingham Disability Football Family Player of the Year: Conor Cotton with Jordan Gudemmi and Kieron Ife as runners up


Elaine Oram, Chief Executive of Nottinghamshire FA said: “We are delighted to have received a record number of nominations this year and to see the fantastic work being undertaken by our volunteers in Nottinghamshire. We would like to thank everyone who has had a role to play in the success of football in the county this season.


“We have seen some high calibre nominations again this year and we look forward to celebrating our winners and runners-up at our Awards Event on the 3rd August 2018.”